<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Ian Goldstein &#187; China</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.iangoldstein.com/tag/china/feed" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.iangoldstein.com</link>
	<description>Programming, hosting, photography, wine and more...</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Mon, 26 Jul 2010 20:10:45 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.1.2</generator>
		<item>
		<title>Chinese Domain Name Scam</title>
		<link>http://www.iangoldstein.com/chinese-domain-name-scam</link>
		<comments>http://www.iangoldstein.com/chinese-domain-name-scam#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 03 Aug 2009 16:15:04 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Ian</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[China]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Domain Names]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Scam]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.iangoldstein.com/?p=64</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I received a very interesting email the other day. Seems as if this very nice Chinese company wants to help protect my business identity and trademarks. Maybe it&#8217;s just my skeptical nature, but such unsolicited generosity doesn&#8217;t seem genuine to me. Before going futher, here&#8217;s a copy of their email to me: Dear novo-ops: We [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I received a very interesting email the other day. Seems as if this very nice Chinese company wants to help protect my business identity and trademarks. Maybe it&#8217;s just my skeptical nature, but such unsolicited generosity doesn&#8217;t seem genuine to me.</p>
<p>Before going futher, here&#8217;s a copy of their email to me:</p>
<blockquote><p>Dear novo-ops:<br />
We are Shanghai Chooke Network  Information Technology Co.,Ltd,which is the domain name register center in  China.I have something need to confirm with you.<br />
We have  received an application formally.one company named &#8220;Wanda (China) Investment  Co.,Ltd&#8221; applies for the domain names(<a title="http://www.novo-ops.cn" href="http://www.novo-ops.cn/">www.novo-ops.cn</a> <a title="http://www.novo-ops.com.cn" href="http://www.novo-ops.com.cn/">www.novo-ops.com.cn</a> etc.),and the  Internet keyword(novo-ops) on the internet July 31,2009.We need to know the  opinion of your company because the domain names and keyword may relate to the  copyright of brand name on internet.<br />
we would like to get the affirmation  of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as  possible.</p>
<p>Kind Regards,<br />
Alex.Tao<br />
Tel: +86-21-62416070<br />
Fax:  +86-21-62597835<br />
Email:alex.tao@chooke.org.cn<br />
Shanghai Chooke Network  Information Technology Co., Ltd<br />
website:www.chooke.org.cn</p></blockquote>
<p>At first glance, it appears as if some domain speculator in China is trying to register versions of my domain name under the .cn top level domain. It&#8217;s awfully nice that the good folks at Shanghai Chooke Network  Information Technology are looking out for me.</p>
<p>Of course, the fact they are trying to register &#8220;novo-ops&#8221; with a hyphen, rather than &#8220;novoops&#8221; without a hyphen, is the first clue that this seems a little less than authentic.  Also suspicious is their claim that this supposed company is trying to register my &#8220;Internet keyword&#8221;.   That&#8217;s mildly amusing; I suspect that would be a good pause for concern if such Internet keywords actually existed. Lastly, I know of no registrars that do any such checking before allowing the registration of a domain name. None. Zip. Nada.</p>
<p>A little research on the Internet seems to reveal that the purpose of this scam is to scare domain owners into registering additional domain names.  So, if you get such an email, I&#8217;d recommend filing it with all the other domain name registration scams that have come before&#8230;in the trash.</p>
<p>If you&#8217;d like to read a bit more about this scam, here&#8217;s a couple of other good links&#8230;</p>
<ul>
<li><a href="http://www.markturner.net/2008/10/20/asiadnr-and-the-domain-name-scam/" target="_blank">Mark Turner Dot Net &#8211; AsiaDNR and the domain name scam</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.miproconsulting.com/blog/2008/06/dns-spam/" target="_blank">Unfiltered &#8211; In This Morning&#8217;s Inbox: Clever Domain Name Spam</a></li>
</ul>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.iangoldstein.com/chinese-domain-name-scam/feed</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>1</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

